49th St. Gallen Symposium "Capital for Purpose": 8–10 May 2019



Preview of our speakerlist

The programme of the 49th St. Gallen Symposium will be published in 2019.

Prof. Omid Aschari Managing Director, Master in Strategy and International Management, University of St. Gallen
Dominic Barton Global Managing Partner Emeritus, McKinsey & Company
Ignazio Cassis Head of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs of Switzerland
Dae-Whan Chang Chairman, Maekyung Media Group
Aiko Doden Senior Commentator, NHK (Japan Broadcasting Corporation)
Shmuel (Mooly) Eden Former Senior Vice President, Intel Corporation & Chairman of the Executive Committee, University of Haifa
Prof. Simon Evenett Director, Swiss Institute for International Economics and Applied Economic Research, University of St. Gallen
Lady Lynn Forester de Rothschild Founder and Chief Executive, Coalition for Inclusive Capitalism
Jason George J.M. George, Inc.
Prof. em. Peter Gomez President, Center for Leadership and Values in Society, University of St. Gallen
Arancha González Executive Director, International Trade Center
Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach Vice Chairman, Goldman Sachs International
Piyush Gupta Chief Executive Officer & Director, DBS Group
Heng Swee Keat Minister of Finance of Singapore
Bogolo Kenewendo Minister of Investment, Trade and Industry of the Republic of Botswana
Sung-Joo Kim Chairperson & Chief Visionary Officer, MCM Holding AG
Ben Lundin Co-Founder & Chief Executive Officer, Pacify
Prof. Colin Mayer Peter Moores Professor of Management Studies, Saïd Business School, University of Oxford
Christian Mumenthaler Group Chief Executive Officer, Swiss Re
Muriel Pénicaud Minister of Labour of France
Stephen Sackur Presenter HARDtalk, BBC News
Nina dos Santos Europe Editor, CNN International
Sanjeev Sanyal Principal Economic Adviser in the Ministry of Finance of the Government of India
Mark Tercek President & Chief Executive Officer, The Nature Conservancy
Gita Wirjawan Founder, Ancora Foundation
Martin Wolf Chief Economics Commentator, The Financial Times
Bettina Würth Chairwoman of the Advisory Board, Würth Group
Gerhard Zeiler President, Turner International

Download lists with former speakers

 Faculty of the 48th St. Gallen Symposium

 Faculty of the 47th St. Gallen Symposium

 Faculty of the 46th St. Gallen Symposium

 Faculty of the 45th St. Gallen Symposium

Download last year’s programme

 Programme of the 48th St. Gallen Symposium

Main Session Formats

Plenary Sessions

Plenary Sessions inspire the symposium's participants in the main auditorium and set the tone through keynotes, panels and One-on-One debate sessions. A constructive exchange of views is fostered through participation in the assembly, moderated by one of our very experienced Topic Leaders.

Insight Sessions

Smaller groups of around 30 participants engage in an intimate discussion, on equal footing and off the record. Insight Sessions are the most suitable format for a direct and unrestricted discussion between speakers and participants. Plenary speakers may wish to expand on their remarks in a smaller setting, or speakers provide exclusive expertise on a topic that deepens the overall symposium theme.

Interactive Sessions

Interactive Sessions take place parallel to our Insight Sessions; together they form two core elements of the symposium programme. Interactive Sessions focus on a central issue related to the overall symposium theme, with the aim of developing solutions. In a workshop setting, participants can contribute together - and across generations - toward innovative answers and concepts.