50th St. Gallen Symposium "Freedom Revisited": 7–8 May 2020


Faculty 2017

47th St. Gallen Symposium


 Speakers at the 47th St. Gallen Symposium

 Topic Leaders at the 47th St. Gallen Symposium


Speakers 2017

Speaker Role Affiliation
Omar Abbosh Chief Strategy Officer Accenture
Samuel Agutu Managing Director &
Chief Executive Officer
Changamka Microhealth Ltd
Sami Atiya President, Robotics and Motion division Member of the Group Executive Committee ABB Ltd
Anat Bar Gera Chairwoman Cyverse AG
Andrew Bastawrous Co-Founder &
Chief Executive Officer
Peek Vision
Hubertus von Baumbach Chairman of the Board of
Managing Directors
Boehringer Ingelheim
Swan Gin Beh Chairman Singapore Economic Development Board
Heike Bingmann EMG, Management &
Organizational Development
ZF Group
Martin Blessing President Personal &
Corporate Banking and
President UBS Switzerland
UBS Group AB
David Blitzer Managing Director &
Chairman of the Index Committee
S&P Dow Jones Indices, S&P Global
Rob Bradley Vice President, Digital Commercial Strategy and Revenue CNN
Roland Busch Chief Technology Officer &
Member of the Managing Board
Siemens AG
Santiago Calatrava Architect & Artist  
Tim Carter Co-Director & Chief Operating Officer Peek Vision
Stephan Chambers Director, The Marshall Institute for Philanthropy and Social Entrepreneurship London School of Economics
Neal Cross Social Entrepreneur and
Chief Innovation Officer
DBS Bank
John Dacey Group Chief Strategy Officer Swiss Re
Denis Duverne Chairman of the Board of Directors AXA
Kacem El Ghazzali Co-Scientific Director Raif Badawi Foundation for Freedom
Marcela Escobari Visiting Fellow The Brookings Institution
Francisco Fernandez Chief Excecutive Officer Avaloq
Warren Fernandez Editor The Straits Times
John Flint Group Managing Director &
Chief Executive RBWM
HSBC Holdings plc
Roberta Francis Co-Founder The Lucy Foundation and Leader of Tomorrow
Christoph Franz Chairman F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd
J. Erik Fyrwald Chief Executive Officer Syngenta
Joshua S. Gans Jeffrey S. Skoll Chair of Technical Innovation and Entrepreneurship Rotman School of Management
Timothy Garton Ash Historian, Author and Commentator  
Mario Greco Group Chief Executive Officer Zurich Insurance Group Ltd
Neil Harbisson Cyborg and contemporary artist  
Rachel Haurwitz President & Chief Executive Officer Caribou Biosciences, Inc.
Beat Hess Statutory Chairman LafargeHolcim Ltd
Charles O. Holliday Chairman Royal Dutch Shell plc
Thebe Ikalafeng Founder & Chairman Brand Leadership Group Ltd
Kuniko Inoguchi Member,
House of Councillors
National Diet of Japan
Lance James Chief Scientist Flashpoint
Vít Jedlička President of the
Free Republic of Liberland
Prof. Takaaki Kajita Nobel Laureate in Physics University of Tokyo
Kersti Kaljulaid President of Estonia  
Shira Kaplan Founder & Chief Executive Officer Cyverse AG
Michal Kosinski Assistant Professor of Organizational Behavior Stanford University
Ekaterina Kotenko Vice President of Business Development Astro Digital
James Kuffner Chief Technology Officer Toyota Research Insitute (TRI)
Ong Ye Kung Minister for Education of Singapore  
Leslie Maasdorp Chief Financial Officer New Development Bank
Prof. Miriam Meckel Publisher WirtschaftsWoche
Robyn Meredith Executive Director Goldman Sachs (Asia) L.L.C.
Evgeny Morozov Author & Columnist  
Robert Nemlander Founder Entocube
Stephan Rietiker Chief Executive Officer LifeWatch
John B. Rogers, Jr. Co-Founder &
Chief Executive Officer
Local Motors
Alec Ross Author & Technology Policy Expert  
Deb Roy Director, Laboratory for Social Machines (LSM)
Chief Media Scientist
MIT Media Lab
William Ruh Senior Vice President &
Chief Digital Officer
General Electric Company
Susanne Ruoff Chief Executive Officer Swiss Post
Ilya Sachkov Founder & Chief Executive Officer Group IB
Anders Samuelsen Minister for Foreign Affairs of Denmark  
Symone D. Sanders Former National Press Secretary for
Bernie Sanders and Leader of Tomorrow
Sir John Scarlett Former Head of MI6 and
Senior Associate Fellow
Royal United Services Institute for Defence & Security Studies (RUSI)
Prof. Jürgen Schmidhuber Scientific Director,
Dalle Molle Institute for Artificial Intelligence Research (IDSIA)
University of Applied Sciences and Arts of Southern Switzerland
Johann N. Schneider-Ammann Federal Councillor of the
Swiss Confederation
Tony Schwartz Ghostwriter of Donald Trump’s
The Art of the Deal and
Chief Executive Officer & Founder
The Energy Project
Richard Shinn Founder & Chief Executive Officer AIBrain, Inc
Dan Wagner Serial Tech Entrepreneur  
Martin Wolf Chief Economics Commentator The Financial Times


Topic Leaders 2017

Topic Leader Role Affiliation
Dagogo Altraide Founder ColdFusion Studios
Scott D. Anthony Managing Partner Innosight
Prof. Omid Aschari Managing Director, Master in Strategy and International Management, University of St. Gallen
Priscila Bala Conférencière 47th St. Gallen Symposium
Prof. James Davis Director, Institute for Political Science University of St. Gallen
Peter Day Global Business Correspondent BBC News
Veit Dengler Chief Executive Officer NZZ Media Group
Aiko Doden Senior Commentator NHK (Japan Broadcasting Corporation)
Prof. Simon Evenett Director, Swiss Institute for
International Economics
University of St. Gallen
Warren Fernandez Editor The Straits Times
Prof. Elgar Fleisch Director, Institute of Technology Management University of St. Gallen
Prof. Christoph Frei Associate Professor, School of Economics and Political Science University of St. Gallen
Omkar Goswami Chairman CERG Advisory Private Limited
Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach Vice Chairman  
Mehdi Hasan Presenter Head to Head and UpFront Al Jazeera English
Deborah Henderson Founder/Managing Director Centre for Inspired Leadership
Andrew Hill Management Editor & Columnist The Financial Times
Riz Khan International Journalist  
Prof. Georg F. von Krogh Professor of Strategic Management and Innovation ETH Zurich
Leslie Maasdorp Chief Financial Officer New Development Bank
Prof. Miriam Meckel Publisher WirtschaftsWoche
Robyn Meredith Executive Director Goldman Sachs (Asia) L.L.C.
Prof. em. Günter Müller-Stewens Professor Emeritus of Management University of St. Gallen
Annalisa Piras Co-founder and Director The Wake Up Foundation
Prof. Uriel Reichman President & Founder IDC Herzliya
Stephen Sackur Presenter HARDtalk BBC News
Viswa Sadasivan Chief Executive Officer Strategic Moves
Nina dos Santos London Anchor, CNNMoney View CNN International
Prof. Christoph M. Schmidt Chairman The German Council of Economic Experts
Pranjal Sharma Consulting Editor Business World
Prof. Klaus W. Wellershoff Chairman of the board and Partner Wellershoff & Partners Ltd.
Felix Wenger Managing Partner McKinsey & Company, Inc. Switzerland
Martin Wolf Chief Economics Commentator The Financial Times