Speakers 2013

43rd St. Gallen Symposium


Speakers at the 43rd St. Gallen Symposium


Speaker Role Affiliation
Dr Josef Ackermann (CH) Chairman of the Board of Directors Zurich Insurance Group Ltd
Prof. Patrick Aebischer (CH) President École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
Nayan Agrawal (IN) Leader of Tomorrow Muzaffarpur
Nayla Al Khaja (AE) Chief Executive Officer D-SEVEN Motion Pictures
Dr Michael Ambühl (CH) State Secretary State Secretariat for International Financial Matters SIF
Ali Babacan (TR) Deputy Prime Minister of the Republic of Turkey  
Chatib Basri (ID) Chairman Indonesia Investment Coordinating Board (BKPM)
Stefan Borgas (DE) President & Chief Executive Officer Israel Chemicals Ltd.
Victor L.L. Chu (GB) Chairman First Eastern Investment Group
John R. Dacey (US) Group Chief Strategy Officer &
Member of the Group Executive Committee
Swiss Re
Theodore Dalrymple (GB) Dietrich Weismann Fellow Manhattan Institute
Christophe Deloire (FR) General Director Reporters Without Borders
Sergio P. Ermotti (CH) Group Chief Executive Officer UBS AG
Franz Fehrenbach (DE) Chairman of the Supervisory Board Robert Bosch GmbH
Laurence D. Fink (US) Chairman & Chief Executive Officer BlackRock
Douglas J. Flint (GB) Group Chairman HSBC Holdings plc
Luc Frieden (LU) Minister of Finance of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg  
FU Ying (CN) Chairman Foreign Affairs' Committee of the Chinese National People's Congress
Aditya Ghosh (IN) President InterGlobe Aviation Limited (IndiGo)
Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach (GB) Vice Chairman Goldman Sachs International
Daniel Gutenberg (CH) General Partner VI Partners AG
David Harding (GB) Founder & President Winton Capital Management
HU Shuli (CN) Editor-in-Chief Caixin Media Company Ltd.
Dr Naoko Ishii (JP) Chief Executive Officer & Chairperson Global Environment Facility
Prof. Yoko Ishikura (JP) Professor Graduate School of Media Design, Keio University
Dr Andreas Jacobs (DE) Chairman of the Board Barry Callebaut AG
Lady Barbara Judge CBE (US/GB) Chair UK Pension Protection Fund
Koh Boon Hwee (SG) Chairman Credence Partners Pte Ltd
Dr Ivan Krastev (BG) Chairman of the Board & Programme Director for Political Research The Centre for Liberal Strategies
Prof. Kiyoshi Kurokawa (JP) Academic Fellow National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies
Christine Lagarde (FR) Managing Director International Monetary Fund (IMF)
Dr Burton H. Lee (US) Lecturer Stanford School of Engineering, Stanford University
Dr Stephan Leithner (AT) Member of the Management Board Deutsche Bank AG
Michel Madelain (FR) President & Chief Operating Officer Moody’s Investors Service
Cam Marston (US) Founder & President Generational Insights
Dr Peter Maurer (CH) President International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC)
Ueli Maurer (CH) President of the Swiss Confederation  
General (ret.) Stanley A. McChrystal (US) Co-Founder & Partner McChrystal Group
Mark C. Medish (US/DK) President Guggenheim International
Chandran Nair (MY) Founder & Chief Executive Global Institute For Tomorrow
Arif M. Naqvi (PK) Founder & Group Chief Executive The Abraaj Group
Michael Noonan (IE) Minister for Finance of the Republic of Ireland  
Mohamoud Ahmed Nur (SO) Mayor of Mogadishu  
Damien I. O’Brien (AU) Chief Executive Officer & Chairman Egon Zehnder
Jonathan Oppenheimer (ZA) Director E Oppenheimer & Son (Pty) Ltd
Cem Özdemir (DE) Co-Chairman German Green Party (Alliance '90/The Greens)
Laurence Parisot (FR) President Mouvement des Entreprises de France (MEDEF)
Prof. Richard Parker (US) Lecturer in Public Policy John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University
Prof. Thomas Pogge (DE) Leitner Professor of Philosophy and
International Affairs
Yale University
Andreas Preuss (DE) Deputy Chief Executive Officer Deutsche Börse AG
Urs Rohner (CH) Chairman of the Board of Directors Credit Suisse Group AG
Prof. David Runciman (GB) Professor of Politics Department of Politics and International Studies (POLIS), University of Cambridge
Naguib Sawiris (EG) Executive Chairman Orascom Telecom Holding S.A.E.
S. Michael Scheeringa (US) President &
Chief Executive Officer Flight Support
BBA Aviation
Dr Ulf M. Schneider (DE/US) President & Chief Executive Officer Fresenius SE & Co. KGaA
James M. Seneff Jr. (US) Executive Chairman CNL Financial Group
Martin Senn (CH) Chief Executive Officer Zurich Insurance Group Ltd
D Shivakumar (IN) Senior Vice President IMEA Nokia Corporation
Dr Hiroshi Tomono (JP) President & Chief Operating Officer Nippon Steel & Sumitomo Metals Corporation
Friar José Raúl Vera López O.P. (MX) Bishop of the Diocese of Saltillo  
Marcus Wallenberg (SE) Chairman SEB (Skandinaviska Enskilda Banken) AB
Sofjan Wanandi (ID) Chairman Indonesian Employers Association (APINDO)
Ning Wang (SG) Leader of Tomorrow  Singapore
Dr Guido Westerwelle, MdB (DE) Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Federal Republic of Germany  
Gita Wirjawan (ID) Minister of Trade of the Republic of Indonesia  
Michael C. Woodford (GB) Former Chief Executive Officer Olympus Corporation
YANG Lan (CN) Chairperson Sun Media Group
Prof. YAO Yang (CN) Dean National School of Development,
Peking University
École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne